Sarabande & Preludio, By J.S. Bach (1685-1750)
arranged by Neal Corwell

Instrumentation: unaccompanied solo for tuba or euphonium*
Copyright: 2003
Duration: ca. 6:00 total (ca 4:30 for Preludio alone)
Range: AA to f-1 for tuba, and D to b-flat-1 for euphonium
Difficulty: V
Publisher: Nicolai Music
Price: $10
Other Info: *The two published versions (tuba & euphonium) are in different keys. When ordering, it is important to specify which version you wish to purchase. The euphonium version comes with both B-flat treble and bass clef parts.

This arrangement features the pairing together of two complimentary movements from the works of J.S. Bach that work well together as a concert or contest piece. The lyrical and dramatic opening movement is the
Sarabande from Bach’s Solo Cello Suite No. 6, and the lively and challenging Preludio is from the master’s Solo Violin Partita No. 3. The movements may also be performed individually.

Preludio is by far the most demanding of the two movements, and the reason for the high overall difficulty rating assigned to the piece. Dr. Corwell has edited the movement in such a way as to make a performance feasible for a brass soloist, without presenting a watered-down version of the original. In addition to creating some breathing spots for the wind soloist, Neal has added dynamic markings and tempo changes that are both practical and musical, adding musical contrast and drama to this movement as it moves perpetually forward. The performer will be challenged endurance-wise by the relentless streams of sixteenth notes that comprise the Preludio, but those that have the mental discipline and physical stamina to master this movement are sure to win the admiration of their audience.