Ruslan & Ludmilla’s Romp Across Russia, opus 58

featuring the music of:
Glinka, Borodin, Tchaikovsky, and Rimsky-Korsakov

as arranged by Neal Corwell

Instrumentation: (1) euphonium solo with band, or (2) euphonium solo with piano and optional percussion, or (3) wind octet with percussion
(The wind octet consists of 2 tubas, 2 euphoniums, and four saxophones: soprano, alto, tenor, and baritone. Three percussionists are required to perform four instruments: bass drum, cymbals, tambourine, and triangle)
Copyright: 2011
Duration: 6:30
Range: (for solo version) E-flat to d-2 (or to b-flat-1 with optional ossia)
Difficulty: IV-V (solo version)
: Nicolai Music
Price: (1) $55 for solo with band version (score & parts)
(2) $15 for solo with piano (add $5 for optional percussion part)
(3) $30 for octet with percussion version
Other Info: Soloist with band version premiered July 24, 2011 with Neal Corwell as soloist, accompanied by the Hagerstown Municipal Band, Lynn Lerew conducting, Hagerstown, Maryland. Octet with percussion version premiered November 15, 2011 by The US Army Band Tuba-Euphonium Quartet, and The US Army Band Saxophone Quartet, along with percussionists, also from The US Army Band, “Pershing’s Own”.


Billed as “a boisterous excursion through Russian’s Musical Landscape”, this arrangement melds together several famous Russian orchestral works, to include Borodin’s
Steppes of Central Asia, and Dance of the Polovtsian Maidens, the finale of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4, Rimsky-Korsakov’s Dance of the Tumblers, Glinka’s Ruslan & Ludmilla Overture, and snippets of other famous themes of the same ilk. Themes from Glinka’s Ruslan & Ludmilla, because they are featured prominently and recur frequently, serve as the glue that hold the work together, hence the title.The brisk tempos provide ample opportunity to display technical brilliance, and the energetic nature of the music makes this a fun piece for both performers and audiences.

Dr. Corwell originally conceived the work as a solo with band, and he has also created a piano-accompanied version (with optional added percussion). Shortly after the premiere of the solo, the arranger hit upon the idea of adapting the piece for a unique ensemble: two “misfit” quartets (saxophone and tuba-euphonium). The Octet version is NOT a solo accompanied by a small ensemble. Instead, it is a true ensemble piece, with primary solo lines and musical materials shared by the various members of the group. If you are looking for something exciting, but light and fun in spirit, this piece is for you.