Lullabye, Opus 57 by Neal Corwell

Instrumentation: This work comes in three different keys and with two choices of accompaniment. The possible solo instruments are: tuba, euphonium, tenor trombone, bass trombone, trumpet, flugelhorn, French horn, bassoon, clarinet, oboe, flute, alto sax, tenor sax, and cello.The two accompaniment choices are piano or band. The piano version includes accompaniments in two different keys to give the soloist a choice. The version with band is in a different key from either of the piano accompaniments, down a half step from the original. This was done to better accommodate the instruments of the accompanying ensemble.
Copyright: originally published in 1991 as final movement of “Three Farewell Pieces”, and published separately as an independent solo work in 2011. The Band accompanied version was created in 2012.
Duration: 3:25
• For euphonium the range is from B to a-1 in the original key, and G to f-1 in the transposed key. The key with band accompaniment ranges from B-flat to a-flat-1.
• Three different versions are provided for tuba with piano. The highest ranges from G to f-1 & the lowest from GG to f. The medium-low version goes from BB to a. The version with band is from BB-flat to a-flat.
• The solo part lies within a conservative and comfortable range for all other instruments.
Difficulty: II (although the version in the original key, because it utilizes a higher tessitura than the transposed version, is slightly more difficult for most instruments)
Publisher: Nicolai Music
Price: $10 for piano accompanied versions *
$45 for band accompanied version (full score and all parts included)
(* version with piano includes solo parts for the instrument specified on the order form, plus the piano accompaniment, which is provided in both the original key and the transposed key [transposed down by the interval of a major third]. Both treble and bass clef parts are provided for the euphonium, and tuba soloists are provided with three versions of the solo part [see note above on range for details]).
Other Info: Original version was premiered by the composer, as the final movement of “Three Farewell Pieces”, during an alumni concert at Frostburg State University in 1991. The band accompanied version was premiered July 22, 2012, by the composer, with the Hagerstown Municipal Band, in Hagerstown, Maryland.


Lullabye was originally created as the third movement of Neal Corwell’s composition titled Three Farewell Pieces, a work published in 1991 and composed in memory of Stephanie Ann Roper, a Frostburg State University art student who was murdered in 1982. Neal was an acquaintance of Stephanie, having attended Frostburg State (in Frostburg, Maryland) at the same time. The first movement of the Three Farewell Pieces, titled Elegy, was written just days after hearing the news of her death. The remaining two movements were composed several years later. The lyrical and consonant Lullabye, which brings the work to a quiet conclusion, was the composer's way of saying to Stephanie, "farewell, may you rest in peace."

Dr. Corwell, realizing
Lullabye was effective as a stand-alone concert piece, has performed the work by itself during numerous concerts over the last several years. Its simple poignancy always seems to elicit a positive response from audiences. Performers of various instruments have often expressed an interest in adding Lullabye to their repertoire, hence this edition of the composition in varying keys to suit the range of several instruments. Most instruments are provided with the choice of two versions (one in the original key plus a transposed version which is a major third lower), but there are three versions provided for the tuba, and only one version is provided for the following instruments: flute, alto sax, tenor sax, and French horn.

Technical difficulties are few, because the emphasis is on melody and simplicity. An intermediate player should have no difficulty rendering a successful performance of the piece, and the advanced performer will relish the opportunity to showcase their instrument’s beautiful lyrical and expressive qualities.

This version of the composition is arranged for various solo instruments to include: trumpet, flugelhorn, French horn, tenor trombone, bass trombone, euphonium, tuba, bassoon, oboe, flute, alto sax, tenor sax and cello. There are three versions for solo tuba (high, medium-low, and low). Other instruments are provided with the choice of two versions (one in the original key plus a transposed version), with the exception of the following instruments, which are provided with only one version: flute, alto sax, tenor sax, and French horn.

The piano accompaniment is provided in two keys (the original key is on pages 1-3, and the transposed version is on pages 4-6) to accommodate the many solo versions.
lullabye web samplegraphclick here for pdf version of Lullabye web sample