Two Bach Pieces by J.S. Bach (1685-1750)
arranged by Neal Corwell

Instrumentation: solo (euph, trombone, or trumpet) with piano accompaniment
Copyright: 2015
Duration: 1:50 for Sheep May Safely Graze and 2:15 for Allegro
Range: F to b-flat-1
Difficulty: III
: Nicolai Music
Price: $15 for solo with piano version
Other Info: Soloist premiered, with his wife Kathryn as accompanist, on Christmas eve, 2015, at St. Marks in Oakland, Maryland.


This arrangement features abbreviated versions of two of J.S. Bach’s most well-known pieces: the aria
Sheep may Safely Graze from the Hunting Cantata, and the first movement of his Violin Concerto No. 1. These two movements were selected not only because of their popularity, but also because they are complimentary pieces that work well together to make a welcome addition to any recital program.

Although there are some technical demands made of the soloist in the
Allegro from the Violin Concerto, the comfortable key (B-flat) and reasonable range help to minimize the challenges. Sheep may Safely Graze is very low in difficulty, and gives the soloist ample opportunity to play expressively. The piano part is also quite manageable, with the original ensemble accompaniments pared down in clear simple fashion, avoiding major difficulties.

click here for Two Bach Pieces Excerpts pdf
Two Bach pieces Excerpts